10s3P batteries

Batteries can be set up in series or parallel, but some are cells are connected in series, and the set of series connection are connected in parallel. For example 10s3P. What are the advantages to that over just having them in series?

Discharge potential is directly related to parallel cells. More cells in parallel, more power delivery

1 Like

Come on man, this is like your 3rd or 4th thread about the same thing. Were happy to help, but the information is out there!

The 10S gives you 36v and the 3p gives you 3x the amount of range.

If you connected them all in series you would have a 30s1p battery that would not work for an eSk8.

3 Likes

Why?:joy:I’m a beginner

You would turn the VESC into a marshmallow

Suggest reading above and/or watching below:

Need to get a general gist of what the difference is between voltage (potential difference in charge) vs amperage (speed of the flow of electrons). The combination of potential (voltage) and speed of charge (amperage) is Watts (power and/or heat). Based on Ohm’s law you should know if you increase V but keep the resistance or components in a circuit the same you increase the amperage flow. Beyond this various components like capacitors on the VESC or any ESC have Voltage limits and heat dissipation limits (max current basically).

The max voltage of components is basically the max safe voltage before something internally shorts or breaks down and the component stops working in an ideal way (usually either shorts closed making a circuit as though the component is just a wire or open, like a break in the circuit, depending on the component type and nature of the failure).