12v off road light bar

I bought this 12v off road light bar, and i was wondering how i should wire it as im brand new to electric skateboard building and batteries in general. I was wondering if a 3s lipo battery would work being its just under 12v.

Light Specifications

1 Like

3s Lipo will work great. If you wire it straight to the battery you can put a voltage step down.

Get a step down with enough amperage and you can run it directly from your main power supply.

I dont want to run it off main batter supply as i heard that can cause different cell drain

Don’t see how if it is powered from the main lead.

If you wire it with a step down you don’t have this problem, because you’re linking the step down to main + and -, not only to 3 cels of the main battery :slight_smile:

Doesn’t make sense. You wire it to the main leads not to a specific cell.

1 Like

if i get a step down how would i wire it directly from 12s4p pre built battery pack?

Take the plus and minus from the battery - the same one that goes to the controller and wire it to the step down on the input end and wire the Led bar to the output end

if i wired a 3s battery to here would i need a volt meter alarm so i dont run the batter to nothing?

You will need to find a way to check you’re not overdischarging them. A volt meter alarm is one way.

would it be better to go with a li-ion 3s pack?

You don’t want to over discharge lion as well, even though the discharge voltage is much lower.

I already have a imax B6 so all i would need is a 3s battery. what would be the best way to check that you are not overdischarging the batteries?

Voltage meter, alarm, BMS whatever suits you better.

1 Like

did a little research would something like this work?

Step down

1 Like

3s3p liion from laptop. Cheap Amazon 3s BMS. 4 hours of light on a light bar twice the size.

Chances are your light can handle 4s. At least the battery my friend made it worked on 4s

Yes. That would work