180mm or 218mm trucks?

Hey all. So it is my first build and I am building a single motor, outrunner setup. I am debating whether I should go with a more standard-ish 180mm truck or a wider 218mm. My setup will be: 10s3p batt, Vesc-X, 6374 190kv DIY motor, 16-36 gearing, 90mm wheels. Assuming I would be happy with the single motor setup, I could go with the more standard 180mm trucks. But, if I feel down the road I need more power, I could just add a second 6374 motor to the larger truck setup. That seems like the obvious and more future proof choice, but I am concerned about the difference in the ride between the two trucks. Total newbie to the riding world, so I default to your experience and expertise! By the way, both trucks are from . Links to both below. Thanks! 180mm trucks: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/torqueboards-v2-pro-trucks/ 218mm trucks: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/torqueboards-218mm-trucks/

Don’t just stick your toes in the pool. Dive in head first! Get the 218mm trucks and build a dual 6374 6000watt monster! And don’t settle for a 10s3p, better get a 10s5p or 6p And some 40T wheel pulleys on those 90mm wheels so you can lay down some serious rubber! Hey, it’s only money…

12 Likes

hahaha I like the way you think!! But, the rest of my foot will have to wait. Trying to save where I can lol. Limited to 10s3p due to physical dimensions of the board. (It’s gonna fold :hushed:)