40" LY Switchblade | Dual Carvon Hub Drive | S.P.A.C.E Battery | VESC

After lurking on a few differed forums, I’ve decided to make this one my home. So hello!

I’m an old engineer / downhill snowboarder that’s fed up with parking prices in the Bay Area. My main inspiration is to lessen my commute but also to tinker out of curiosity. So far I’ve ordered my deck and hub motor from Carvon and planning on going with the SPACE battery, x2 VESC.

I’m still considering which options would be good for remote. I’ll post pics / videos as I begin my build… and probably way too many stupid questions.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum! Good luck on your build

1 Like

16 posts were split to a new topic: Good Radio Transmitter Hand Controller for use with DIY Electric Skateboard

Also, what is the preference, in general, of people mounting their components? Screw directly to the board, then drop an enclosure over it or let the enclosure catch it? Seems like a good idea to mount it because of vibration from the road?

The enclosure is a whole other project in itself if I go CF. This thread is amazing:

All I can think is “OMG carbon fiber is so cool”. ABS looks pretty cool too:

Sorry @OGP your build thread got mega hijacked… all the talk about radios is now in its own topic.

1 Like

hah it’s ok. I think it’s very amusing :sunny:

I was able to get some basics functioning so far:

Next steps I’ll be working on flashing my other VESC and wiring the bus. Still thinking about what I might do for my enclosure…

1 Like

I’ve wired my CANBUS and configured my forwarding via BLDC for the Kama controller. Having an issue with dropped signal possibly or power fluctuations. I haven’t tested with keyboard to see if it’s consistent but I strongly suspect the Kama remote / receiver combo. Everything is soldered in as recommended but perhaps it’s something else.

Also, once I finalize some of my power settings, I’ll share them.

1 Like