6S LiFePo4 - BMS and Charger Advise

Hello everyone,

Did not find many who tried that so I thought I would ask here (tell me the truth but please go easy on me, it is my first build), As the topic suggests I want to use a 6S LiFePo4 with a 190kv motor setup (is that too low of a voltage? Is that too low of a kv motor?) for my DIY board (which I laminated myself) and I want to have the ability to charge it using a BMS.

#BMS I am trying to buy one on Bestech Power via e-mails but I am not sure this is how I should do it, their site offers no cart! I was specifically looking at this item: Battery Protection Circuit Module (PCM) for 19.2V 6 cells in series LiFePO4 Battery Packs http://www.bestechpower.com/192v6spcmbmspcbforlifepo4batterypack/PCB-D092.html By the way, BatterySupports do not even have any 6S LiFePo4 BMS :frowning: whaaaat? I need to add, that I intend to use the BMS for charging only and bypass the BMS for the load. I also understood that I need it to have balanced charging functionality. Since I am not sure if 6S is enough, I have a spare 3S battery (LiFePo4 of course, so it will fit the others) that means I would need a 9S BMS if I do decide to go that way. I do not suppose there is a way to use 9S BMS as a 6S BMS right?

#Charger Also, I cannot find any LiFePo4 6S charger in any store that has international delivery. Can anyone suggest anything please? Is it important to have a specific LiFePo4 charger, or can I use, say, 6S LiPo charger instead? Its all about the voltage here right? Same question here, for 9S I will need another charger right? Can’t go with a 9S charger and use, say, a voltage divider, right?

Thank you all!

1 Like
  1. you want at least 24V to run your board - go with a 9s LiFePo or 6s Li-ion
  2. Forget about the charger - use a BMS, but it is tough to find LiFePo BMS’s
  3. If you want a great battery from the start, get one from @barajabali. Yes, it costs more. Yes, it is worth it.
1 Like