All terrain board with independent suspension

Hello,

This year I have been working on designing and buiding an all terrain electric skateboard with independent suspension for hobby. As an mechanical engineer I liked to make my own design and realize it. When I was happy with the design I started to build the project. I wanted to build an electric skateboard that is able to ride in all terrain, so I choosed to use big wheels on it. I added my own design of independent suspension to create an unique driving experience while riding offroad instead of using normal skateboard trucks. the board is connected with steering rods to steer with all the 4 wheels. Extra springs are used to reposition the board to the middle after steering.

Now the board is ready I like to show it to you. The Lipo battery and motor controller are placed invisable in the frame. the 800W brushed motor gives the board more than enough power and torque and reaches a topspeed about 30km/h. I choosed consciously to use an brushed motor because the size of the motor was not a problem on this build. I hope you like it!

60 Likes

A ride worth dying for…

1 Like

Wow the trucks look awesome! :heart_eyes: Would love too see a video in action.

1 Like

Nice. Looks like a giant RC car

4 Likes

Fantastic, takes a lot of out of the box thinking to make something new. Any video of this in action?

Bad ass!! Where are you located? For comparison sake I would love to pair one of our pneumatic longboards up against yours in an all-terrain environment. Want to race some trails, pavement and gravel?

3 Likes

That has to be the coolest board I’ve seen since the baja board!! DIY too! That is so cool! Props dude

1 Like

would love to see more on the motors

Awesome … This is amazing work! =)

Did you make all the parts? I would love to see any photos of work in progress. Do you have any videos of this board in action? What’s it like to ride? Responsive?