Anyone used Original S8 or S10 trucks

Hi, I am a complete newbie here but am really keen to build my first board and have made my own conventional longboard with Original S8 trucks as I love the way you can carve on them. I have searched the forums but can’t find anything and was wondering has anyone used these trucks on a build and does anyone see any problems with using them?

hey, glad you are stocked about this place :slight_smile:

So I have ridden those trucks and yes the carve feel is great. Would maybe even describe it more towards a surfy feel even. Fun for pumping or sily slow speed shenanigans. For you application on esk8 they aren’t that great. They feel super unstable. Even the team riders have plenty of trouble with them.

Also if you go with belt systems you would want a solid mount, possibly with idler pulleys if you go single drive. Most mounts on here fit Caliber trucks. Which is good since calibers are super solid for the money and offer different base plates and are heavily customizable. Other trucks with existing mounts would be paris as a more surfy and snappy alternative or croninns (ronin cast trucks) which are a little bit more expensive with the benefit of more stability and lean.

Let me know what exactly you are planning to do, but keep the original trucks for fun on a gravity skate, don’t us them Don’t your esk8.

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for the quick response and advice.

I am wanting to build a board that does carve well and has a more surfy feel but did wonder whether the Originals would be too unstable on a electric board and you have confirmed that. I do have a set of Paris trucks on a longboard which I like so maybe that it the route to go.