AU$600 Budget Build | 6S2P 8A | Single 5065 270KV | ABEC11/Evolve 107mm wheels | FVT ESC | 40inch Drop-down Deck

Hello esk8 builders! This is my first post of Esk8 builds.

This is my first build. I am only 60kg so decided to build a single motor with 12mm belt.

I didn’t want to spend too much money on my first build, so have set my budget limit to $600AUD (which is around $470 in US dollars) :slight_smile:

Specs / Part used (Price tag without shipping fee):

Total AU$604.24 (approx $472 in US Dollars)

There’s no skipping belt issue when I brake it hard but it doesn’t like to climb a steep hill.

Top speed (weighted) : 35.1km/h

Range : approx 11.2miles (18.02km)

I am pretty happy with the build at the moment. Custom CNCed Enclosure (made with fiberglass and carbon fiber) got scratched due to low ground clearance with 80mm wheels that came with the longboard but seems like there’s enough clearance with Evolve 107mm wheels. Maybe I should upgrade the motor to 6374 in near future because there are a lot of steep hills in my area (Melbourne S.E.). Do you think upgrading motor from 5065 to 6374 will make a huge difference? :smile: Let me know your thoughts.

8 Likes

I dont think it would make huge difference, you would ahve to switch to 10s to reach the full potential of 6374 motor, If i were you i would get a second motor and ESC and make it a dual drive :slight_smile:

Dang, to come in under AUD$605 is impressive, but it’s SUPER impressive when you’ve managed to fit the AUD$240 wheels into that budget. This should be a lesson in how to do it LoLz

2 Likes

UPDATED

I didn’t quite like the weak torque of 5065 (it was cogging really bad on uphill especially with 107mm wheels), So I have upgraded the motor from 5065 270kv to 6374 190kv and I really like the dramatic improvement on uphill climbing!