Back pain after long rides?

Hi Guys hope your doing well , i have been riding my board for about two months now and am loving it sometimes i go on long rides i would say 25kms and when i am done my lower back gets sore and starting hurting , keep in mind the roads are a bet bumpy here lots of cracks and stuff , the beach side where i spend most of the time isn’t flat either so i get lots of vibrations , i am just wondering i am the only one facing this problem and if there are any others how do you deal with it, i was thinking of getting some shoes gel pads

Can be from vibration and not standing fully upright for a long time. Standing in a stable bent over stance puts a lot of strain on your muscles, but its probably not advisable to stand fully upright on your board. Vibrations only make it worse so any dampening could help. E.g. shoes, springy deck, rubber risers, lower hardness and larger wheels, or even pneumatics.

1 Like

You probably have bad posture which feels natural to have when riding esk8. You need to strengthen your core, and improve your posture. Pull your shoulders back and down. Riding with a backpack can help you recognize when you are bending forward at the midsection and not at the hips. When was the last time you did sit ups or similar workout?

1 Like

Try this… works wonders once I found this out… It’s godsend. lol

2 Likes

Most peoples lower back pain is from there hamstrings being to tight. You want to stretch one leg at a time and don’t over do it.

http://www.docpods.com/images/Hamstring-Stretch-Sitting-WEB.jpg

Sit-ups are very bad for the back! Abs are made in the kitchen not the gym.

2 Likes

Every esk8’er should exercise their core and muscles in general. Also stretching is as important as exercise.

And try some good shoes. At first i used Converses and those were awful, then i tried Nike Air maxs and loved them.