Backpack range extender! (Parallel)

Hey guys! So I’m new to the esk8 scene but I’ve ordered the new backfire g3 and at some point, I would want to build in a range extender. Here’s my idea, thoughts and advice appreciated:

G3 battery: 50.4v 12s 346Wh

My idea is to make and connect this xt90 loop key (https://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/how-to-anti-spark-xt-90s-loop-key/204) in parallel with the normal battery and have it sit on the outside of the board, then put the second battery (same type) in my backpack and connect it to an xt90 male end to plug into the loop key whenever I want to use it. Is this do-able? Also, are the xt90 connectors pull to disconnect (if not what else could I use)? That way if I fall, I don’t yank on the cables and gut the electronics. Also, this setup would allow me to build in additional batteries at any time.

My .02 I think you need to do a lot more reading before you do some damage. Loop keys are wired in series, never parallel. If you plug a battery into a loop key port you willl at least fry your board, if not start a raging fire. If you wire a loop key in parallel you will definitley start a fire.

It is possible to do what you want but if you are not absolutely sure of what you are doing, better stay away from these kinds of mods.

Stay safe friend,

2 Likes

I think I see what you mean there (the battery would be connected end to end with a true loop key setup like I imagined). What if I connected a fake loop key in parallel? Like, it would be a parallel connection that is open, with a fake cap, which I could then remove and plug the backpack battery cable into to close the parallel connection.

I could make a silicone cap or smth to try to prevent shorts from the loop key when the second battery isn’t plugged in