Batteries and charging

I plan on getting 2x 6s 5000mah batteries. I’ve been doing some research but am a little confused. What do I need to charge it. I don’t have any type of RC charger so I assume I need to buy something. I plan on putting the batteries in Series. Also, do I need to buy anything extra to connect the batteries to each other?

Im pretty new to wiring.

Would something like this help out enough with balancing? Or do I need a full on BMS? http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/_31843__HobbyKing_Parallel_charging_Board_for_6_packs_2_6S_XT_60_UK_Warehouse.html?strSearch=parallel

Also, diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/electric-skateboard-on-off-power-switch/ what two parts would this go between? The battery and the VESC?

Well if you don’t have a charger and need to buy one I would just skip the whole lipo stage and buy your self a liion pack with laptop style charging.

That pack would be a 12s2p my packs come with a charger, LCD display, soft switch.

1 Like

Also to charge your batteries you’d need a 6s charger which I would reccomend something that can charge both packs at the same time. They can cost 80-150 dollars ish.

I don’t have $370 sadly.

If i had the balance charger (Linked Above). Do I need a charger that can charge them both?

Can you link me some chargers you would recommend?

No if you buy that then you just need a single charger.

People tell me that the IMAX charger works wel.

So to charge it I would unplug it from the VESC and plug it into the balance charger?

Yes the main terminals and the balance leads.

How much are you going to spend on 2 batteries, charger and the balance board? And an on off switch.

Btw I sell the same exact on off switch in the electric skateboard market for 12 dollars less

2 batteries about 90 Balance board 11

Could you link your on/off switch