Battery cutoff settings

I have a 12s2p battery 6374 190kv motor focbox nano remote This is my first time setting up a vesc so bear with me, just wondering what my battery cutoff settings should be (start and end)?

Fully charged your batteries will be 4.2v per cell, so that’s your max voltage.

Fully discharged you shouldn’t let them go below 3.2, some would say 3.1 is ok but remember 3.7 is the nominal voltage.

So… 3.2v x however many cells you have is your absolute cut off voltage. Dependant on how much warning you want to have, raise that a fraction of a volt or two (per cell) for your cut off start.

I actually bought the diyelectricskateboard battery pack and I’m not sure how many cells there are?

You’ve already told us…

12s = 12 cells. ‘s’ = cells in series. ‘p’ = cells in parallel.

Also important is your Batt max setting because you have not much amp output from 12s2p. I just looked at their Homepage, no info which cells are used but the BMS is rated for 30A Continuous Amp Output and 80A Peak Amp Output. If the cells are 20A cont. you have 40A max from battery, but the cells will get hot when used at their limits. Would be good if they have used 25A or 30A cells, maybe someone knows. Batt regen would be about -8A, Motor regen (brake) should not be too far away from motor regen (maybe -30 to -40A).

3.2 V per cell is too low imho. You’ll feel that after 3.7V they start to get sluggish and sag a lot more. That’s because momentarily they’re reaching even lower voltages (when accelerating for example) - like 3.3 or 3.2V. When you stop and check the voltage they get back up in voltage. Running them too low often, they’ll degrade sooner.

Under 3.5V they are starting to loose charge, voltage drops abruptly. https://i.stack.imgur.com/LV91V.gif My opinion is that 3.6 V is absolute low if you want long term performance, reliability and safe operation. To reach 300-400 duty cycles, discharge them to 3.6V, rare to 3.5V.