Battery Replacement, Lead to Lithium?

I have recently purchased a moto tec off road E-board however i didnt realize the battery was a lead acid until it arrived. (should have read more into i guess) Anyways i was curious if it was possible to switch it from a lead acid to a lithium. The lead battery has an output of 36v with 14ah and the motors are both 800w requiring 36v and a rated current of 28.5A (there are 2 of them) Basically what i am asking is if anyone knows a lithium battery that will work with this set up? Heres a link to the motors/speed controller

http://www.bigtoysusa.com/mototec-skateboard-800w-36v-motor.aspx http://www.bigtoysusa.com/MT-SKT-1600-electronic-controller.aspx

36V equals 10s lithium batt. So get for example 2x 5s Lipos. Connect them in series and you´re good to go. You could also take 5x 2s Lipos

1 Like

Im kind of new to this if you cant already tell, would i just go higher in the number of cells to make the range of the board longer or would i have to just stay with 10s and go higher in the mah? as of now this board only has a range of 10 miles.

this is an inrunner motor, so not really efficient for an eskate and if you start replacing parts, you end up better getting rid of that thing and building your own :wink: If thats and 36V ESC you have to stay with 10s and put more cells in parallel to add mah, just do a bit research here

1 Like

@TarzanHBK 10s Li-ion or Lipo is not 36v It’s 42v at full charge. Lifepo4 cells would probably work since they are 3.65v at full charge.

The lead battery is 36V nominal too, so no problem in using a 10s lipo here

the lipo’s weigh substantially less then the lead acid correct? Thats my main concern with this is to get the weight and charge time down. Right now it takes a good 6 hours to charge this battery.

Fully charge your Lead Acid battery with its designated charger and check its voltage just to be on the safe side. If it charges up to at least 42v then your good to go with Lipos.