Battery safety compilation

Hello

I’m new in the esk8 scene, but i have a little more in endless sphere, power walls and that kind of stuff. For esk8 community i’ve not seen some discussion on the battery safety topic, so i’ve made here a little recopilation of the tips i’ve seen to add safety to the diy packs that we have to produce.

DISCLAIMER: INABE I’m Not A Battery Expert, some people work this stuff as a profession in the industry or academia, if there is a disagrement between them and me, or between you and me, i will pick me last. DISCLAIMER 2: I speak one total language , 1/2 bad spanish and 1/2 bad english… DISCLAIMER 3: Read battery university, endless-sphere, this forum. There are guys that have been doing this for years and have shared the experience

---- Motivation

• Economical. The more safety feature you have, the less chance part or your whole pack goes wrong, given that people put between 50-200 usd in only cells , its as way of protecting your investment (not counting that the battery can damage other components in the process of kicking the bucket).

• Liability. This is DIY, you carry the consequences of a fire in your house, residential building, your job or on the street. You have to think that you are working with dangerous materials, and by that token, you should do your best try to make them safe

• -S*** happens: Think that laptop manufactures, Boeing, Samsung, Boosted and many others have had problems with batteries, and we are talking about established companies and mega companies. You and i are not better than those guys at manufacturing and QC.

General recommendations.

• Have a fire extinguisher handy

• If you are gonna store batties on bulk choose a dry place that is not under sunlight, not near stuff that can catch fire if the batteries do. If you can buy fire proof bag better.

Design considerations