BMS heating after pluging the balancing cable

Hey there. I am new to the topic and I couldn’t find an answer on other topics related to BMS.

So, I bought brand new Samsung batteries and created a 8s2p pack. All batteries have same voltage individually and also when connected in parallel. Currently the pack has 28.1 volts since it hasnt been charged yet.

I wired a BMS on it starting with B- and P-. I connected also the balance wires to all the positive ends of the battery cells. When I check the voltage from negative wire to all the individual balance leads it is in line with the battery, total 28.1 volts.

However when I plug the balance flat cable into the BMS, it starts to heat up. When I measure the voltage on the P- lead it is showing 26.0 volts so it seams this is heating up the BMS.

Anybody struggled with a similar problem before?

Thanks Anze

Can you show us some photos of the batteries, leads and bms? Do you have a link or any documentation for the bms you can share with us and where you bought it?

Hi. Thanks for replying. Attached a BMS spec!imageimage|281x499

Batteries are Samsung bought from this page https://eu.nkon.nl/samsung-18650-inr18650-25r.html

1 Like

1 Like

Sorry I meant pics of your built battery. Maybe one of the members here can spot something. I hope this works out.

My only thought it the balance leads aren’t in the proper order or the bms is defective. I know you said you checked… Does it get really hot or just warm? I’m wondering if it’s bleeding of power to balance.

1 Like

Put pictures of your wiring up. Also I am not seeing the manufacturer wiring diagram.

I have a similar BMS I am using for charge only.

1 Like

Here the picture of the wiring with voltage measured between battery negative and battery positive (28.1 volts). image

And here the picture with voltagr measured between battery positive and P- string which is supposed to go into the ESC.