Board is slightly curved, how to make enclosure

I have a kick tail and the bottom is a little curved on each side, how would I mount an enclosure to be flat against the board so water can’t get in? Do I just need to make a lip or do I need to make the lip curved a little bit.

Depends on the material. Are you buying or fabricating? If using ABS, just hit it with a heat gun on each end and press down.

1 Like

I’m going to 3d print it with abs but I don’t have access to a heat gun, can I use a blow drier or something

did you model the enclosure or is it something you found?

if you modeled it you could try to create a curve in the model for the deck then print tests with extremely low infill to see if the curve matches.

2 Likes

I didn’t make a model yet but I have all the dimensions. Is there a way to Measire the curve of my board and add that to the design for the lip

Sure. I’m no expert in math, but i can eyeball stuff. The way i do it is use a piece of stiff cardboard and a razor to first match the curve by hand. Once you have that sitting flush and shaved to perfection you can take measurements of that template and apply it to the model. Zoom 1:1 on your screen and you could even hold the cardboard up to the screen and see how close you got.

From there it won’t be absolutely perfect, but shoudl be damned close. Then you can make minor adjustments and do the reprint-with-low-infill thing to get it exact on a small piece of the model so you don’t waste too much plastic.

or he could get something rigid and lay it on the middle and measure the distance to the board from the outer edges…

your way is good too :joy:

that gives you three data points. A template stores infinite data points and can be referenced later and more easily for data points you didn’t measure to begin with. You can make a triangle or a curve with three points. Add more points and you better define the curve.

2 Likes