Braking Help - FSESC 4.12 50A and Backfire Hub Motor controlled by Arduino

I am building a small power wheelchair for a child using two Flipsky VESC to control Backfire Longboard Hub Motors.

I am using the development branch of the RollingGecko/VescUartControl library to control the VESCs via an Arduino Mega. The two VESCs are each connected to a hardware serial port and using UART communications.

Whether I apply braking via SUART.setBrakeCurrent(40) via the Arduino or using the anchor icon in VESCTool I only feel a little resistance to rotation of the wheels.

I would like to be able to hold the device in place on a slope. I am new to using VESCs and would appreciate any advice.

Here are a few pictures of the device so far. Steering and maneuverability are excellent. I just need to figure out braking. Then I will add the floor, seat, rear bumper and tail lights.

3 Likes

Awesome work you are doing! I’ve wanted to try this concept out for a while for a cheaper mobility chair alternative.

Unfortunately braking on slopes is a well known issue with our controllers using magnets to hold position.

Have you tried playing with the settings for forward and reverse control so that you can “reverse” just enough to keep the operator still?

Side question, how are you handling the steering?

Thanks.

I am using a Wii Nunchuck using differential steering code that I have hacked together.

I am setting wheel motor speed by RPM and currently have max RPM limited to 3,000.

Here is a video of it driving around. I did a poor job driving while distracted by the phone. At the beginning of the video it is locked which is indicated by the right and left status LEDs being red. Holding down both buttons on the nunchuck for two seconds unlocks the vehicle and switches the status LEDs to a battery indicator. Currently it is in need of a charge.