Breaks not working properly - vesc flashes red 3x at full break throttle - photos of vesc settings attached

This is my first build and the breaks on my board don’t seem to be working properly…they are pretty weak to begin with and when I pull the break throttle all the way, they don’t connect at all. My board is a 10s4p 30q dual drive and the vescs are focboxs.

I’ve attached photos of the BLDC tool settings:

Any ideas as to what the issue is?

Thanks

Try to up your Motor max to 60A and the Motor min to -40A. Are you running Hubs or Belts?

1 Like

Thanks for the response - Im running belts - I should up the motor max to 60a even though its dual drive?

What kind of motors are you running? 6355? 6374? Find out your max motor Wattage and divide that by your Battery’s Voltage to find out the maximum you can go. ex. 2500W / 10S(10X3.7)= 67.6A I got advise to uncheck Limit ERPM with negative torque to get better braking.

1 Like

Yes, you only need to adjust the Batt Max and Batt Min for dual drive. Keep Motor max and Motor min same as single drive.

1 Like

Double Check your throttle settings / PPM as well, make sure that you’ve correctly followed the wizard so that you have full range on braking… Because you should have brakes even with your settings.

2 Likes

thanks for the input @Namasaki @goldrabe @lazerusrm

I’m running dual 6374 3200w motors - so i’ll change the motor max and motor min to 86A and uncheck the “limit ERPM with negative torque” box, but leave everything else the same…I’ll test that out tonight. That is a huge difference in motor max and motor min than what I had lol

Take it easy bro, don’t go to the max straight away. Leave some headroom. And as @Namasaki said the battery max and battery min settings are the more important ones, they determine how much current your battery pack delivers or receives. (regenerative braking)

1 Like