Budget | Slow | Short-range Longboard for complete Noobs

I’ve never skated before, but when my youngest son (8 years old) said he wanted an electrical engine to build something that moves I started to investigate electrical skateboards and got hooked on the idea. I have some experience with Raspberry Pi , Arduino and Servos and DC-motors, soldering and other DIY-projects so I think I will be able to construct one, but I’m hesitant about the parts to use.

Our goals are a bit different than regular e-skaters I guess:

1. To have fun building it
  2. To learn stuff about electronics, mechanics and batteries on the go
  3. To build something reasonably safe
  4. To build something stable and easy to ride
  5. To find good budget alternatives, I’m thinking of a total budget around 300-400€. Buying used components is totally OK.

Things that are not important to us now are:

1. Speed - I guess around 15km/h will be enough
  2. Range - If we can ride for half an hour that is OK to start with
  3. Power to go uphill - We will try to stay level since we can’t skate at all!

I’m thinking of following this tutorial: BigKids HOW TO BUILD A DIY ELECTRIC :zap: SKATEBOARD

I’m interested in skimping on some parts however. Maybe we can use a weaker engine and/or also settle for a less powerful battery? So far I’ve been thinking of these using these main parts:

1. HGLRC-Flipsky FSESC 4.12 50A SK8 ESC - Maybe we can get a cheaper, less powerful ESC and hook it up to my Arduino?
  2. BangGood DIY Electric Skateboard Kit
  3. 6374 190KV Outrunner motor - Maybe we can get a cheaper, less powerful alternative? Maybe a combined RC car ESC/motor-kit could save money?
  4. A regular flexing longboard
  5. Large wheels 70-90mm
  6. Caliber trucks
  7. Homemade enclosures.
  8. Batteries - Not decided yet, could one Turnigy 5S 21V be enough for our purposes?

That ESC is available for around $55 on aliexpress. You’re not going to find a much cheaper ESC than that at almost any power level.