Building a mountainboard - Need your help!

Hi guys! I’ve been riding my DIY electric longboard for a few years now and I’m having a blast!

Now I want to start the next build and I need your help and thoughts to build the perfect mountainboard for a reasonable price!

I’m thinking a pretty standard mountanboard from Trampaboards.com and the motor mount from . The other electronics are more of a questionmark atm.

If you have any tips on a good trampaboard for a noobie on these boards, please help :slight_smile:

I was thinking two VESC’s 4.12 and two Turnigy SK3 6374 192KV, though i’m not sure how to mount the pulley on the round motor shaft.

Then comes the batterypack. I have a DIY 18650 12S3P pack atm and i’m thinking about a 12S4P pack for the new one. Or LiPo’s if there’s any advantages.

The encolosure for everything needs to be as close to waterproof as possible.

I’f you have any thoughts, ideas or just want to say hi, please comment! Any tips are welcome :slight_smile:

Peace!

I would recommend you getting an Vesc 6 variant, more amps and relatively cheap, 110$ or so For dual drive you will need more than a 3p for sure, i would use 4 minimally preferably 5p

For a little more $$ you can get maytech motors that are ip54 rated

1 Like

Thanks for some great tips! I will check that out! Where can u find the Vesc6 dual? or do I just buy two?

you can probably get a better price if you order from a group buy

Sweet! Thank you so much! I live in Sweden so a group buy is hard to find. But those prices were pretty good either way :slight_smile:

theres one in europe now

So basically the advantage of lipo is the power to size difference. Liion is brilliant dont get me wrong, but lipo is cheaper, sometimes smaller and can usually push much higher amperage. regarding the pulley, you use a small grinder and grind a flat spot into the shaft. you can also use a chisel.

Thanks! I will check it out! :slight_smile: