Can someone help me understand what I'm missing here?

Hey all. I recently decided to build my own electric longboard, and while the initial build process has went well, I’m stuck on my vesc wiring. I’m pretty new to this and there’s a lot I don’t know about these vescs and I don’t want to damage anything, so any help would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile: I’ll post some pics of my build so you know what I’m running.

Basically, my vesc is receiving power and I can control the master side with my remote, but my slave side isn’t activating the motor. From what little I know about vescs, and correct me if I’m wrong, but the master side needs to connect to the slave side via another set of cables from the remote receiver, or by a CAN bus? Of which I have neither. The problem is I cant identify where a CAN bus would even connect on the master side, since the only ports I recognize are the ports for the remote receiver and the sensor wire.

I’m also using the vesc tool and when I do connect my vesc, it says this:

Notice at the bottom right of the first pic, it says limited mode, which I’m assuming is because my firmware needs to be updated. I can update it but it says I will lose all settings on my vesc, which makes me nervous because I don’t know all the ins-and-outs of configuring settings from scratch. Anways, thanks for taking the time to read this - I’m really hoping someone can help me out here lol.

1 Like

The canbus in this is actually a little black switch on the vesc. It says canbus on/off. However, you are using UART for the remote. I have personally been unable to ever make that work. I believe you program it with canbus off and then turn/Plug it canbus after? I always use pwm…

You would only need to run the wizards again to get your settings. You could also write down what you have and just add it during setup