Carbon fiber electrical conductivity

Hello fellow board neards. I have a question for the carbon fiber gurus. I have some experience working with fiberglass add I AGM planning on doing my first carbon battery enclosure. But I have a bit of concern about having electricity conducting walls. My question is what do you people do about this issue I have thought about aging a first layer (I am using a male mold with ghetto vacuum so the first layer would be in contact with the contents) of maybe fiberglass or cloth of some type but I’m not sure if this would affect the strength of the enclosure Or maybe adding Some cheap adhesive car sound proofing inside

Thoughts? Thanks!!!

Calling @MasterCho!

i cant contribute much to your original question but just make sure you actually need carbonfiber vs fiberglass. Im not sure how well cf takes to flex stressing so just keep that in mind!

Flex and stress was my reason to try carbon instead of fg. And that is after reading carbon posts in the forum. New question any reason for fiberglass over carbon?

depending on how the fibers are laid CF will or will not be flexy… if your’e good (know the fiber) you should be able to tune the flex to what you want. I haven’t had a CF eSk8, but I’ve had paddles, bikes and wheels. Some have had no flex and some like the paddle was stiff in the butt but like a spring towards the blade that returned the energy in the second half of the stroke. I have seen some of the builds here insulate the CF enclosure, I think I have seen whitepony use felt. Try searching some builds, I’m sure you will find several tested solutions.

1 Like

I just checked the resistance on a CF strand (300mm length; roughly 30mg of mass) and it had around 50Ohm resistance, so its definitely conductive enough to cause quite a current flow in a mesh if connected to the battery. However in a case you’ve got multiple layers of epoxy resin above the CF, so I doubt it could cause any realistic issue.

1 Like