Cheap 10s2p packs on ebay

I saw this on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-SAMSUNG-18650-36V-4-4AH-BATTERY-EBIKE-VAPE-POWERWALL-BATTERIES-20-CELLS-BMS-/201895735309?epid=1621923126&hash=item2f01ec700d:g:Mh8AAOSwSypY9Y7d 35$ seems way too good to be true. I’m assuming somebody here might be able to comment on them. Anybody bought one of these for testing? cheap enough that it doesn’t really hurt much if they are fake.

2 Likes

Woah…imagine a 10s4p pack for $70! Something does seem fishy here though, my guess is the cells are maybe the binned samsung ones or not genuine. Then again I am no expert so someone else here can give a better idea.

1 Like

There’s a couple threads on this already. They’re using 10A continuous cells. Unless you go 6p+ you’re going to incur a large amount of voltage sag.

Still not too shabby. 10s8p would be close to 600wh for $150

could you link to them?

I’ve got them, I use them. No issues. Great stuff and at 10S6P I indeed am around 500Whr and really do get about 25 miles. It’s legit.

1 Like

Can anyone who has them tell me about the physical shape? I looked at getting them for my board, but it looks like with them stacked 3 high, they won’t give me enough clearance underneath the board.

What about voltage sag since it’s only 10A ?

Definitely a few volts of SAG, but the 10Amp is continuous with a 20Amp max. Even at high speed I’m still not pulling a full 60amps through the battery and even if it’s OK to do 20Amps for a second here and there that would be 120Amps!!

Did you harvest the cells from the pre-built packs, or instead used them in their original configuration? If the latter, I’m interested to know of your experience using the included bms; does it limit the discharging capabilities in any way, or is its function merely for charging?