Custom 6s4p pack cost

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, please go easy on me :slight_smile:

RideRiptide released a new extended range board, the R1X, along with the option to purchase the battery to upgrade an existing R1 or R1E. I know the Chinese parts on this board aren’t the best (except for wheels and deck), but the current battery just sucks and I’d like to upgrade it.

The new battery is a 6s4p/10AH/212Wh with the Samsung 25R cells (not sure if R2 or R5)

They priced the pack at $299 which I think is overpriced. (Meepo’s 295Wh Sanyo pack is $255) Does anyone here build custom packs? What would something like this cost to build?

They claim double the range (makes sense since the old 6s3p battery was rated at 97Wh). How does the voltage sag on these cells compare to the Sanyo GA cells? What about expected life (charge/discharge cycles)?

Thanks,

Digo

Don’t know if this helps, but if I was using 30qs it would cost me about $150 to build a 6s4p. Maybe a little less. I don’t know how much 25rs cost. So it isn’t a crazy price.

IMHO, save the money until you have $1000 or so and build a quality board. You won’t reget it.

2 Likes

You can use the 10s2 that meepo sells for 255, and it fits right in the same enclosure. @DAddYE did and got good results.

Hard to justify saving $1,000 when I already spent $729 for the R1E.

I heard about the 10s2p swap, wondering how that stacks up against the 6s4p as far as range goes. The 10s2p would require me to buy a different charger.

There’s mad power difference between 6 and 10s. I would go with 10s. And a 10s charger would go anywhere from 6-100dollars