Decent value build: Carbon fiber deck | 4x3s lipo packs | Dual Vesc6 with 90mm hub motors | custom electronics chassis

Hey guys, I haven’t been active on this form before, but thought I’d make a post and share a build that was completed several months ago. It is my first build and I’m quite happy with it for now.

The specs are: Carbon fiber deck https://www.hi5ber.com/incisor 4x 3s 4500mAh RC lipo packs 2x Vesc6 2x Maytech Hubs http://www.maytech.cn/en/mto91hbm-nh/8803.html typical PWM transmitter/receiver

max around 50km/h goes about 20km but haven’t bench-marked precisely.

The design goal is an optimal bang for buck dual hubs setup. The total cost ended up around $1200 dollars, but can easily go below $800 if I chose a less fancy deck and ESC.

The VESC6’s were a bit pricey but definitely runs smooth without problems, I was a beta tester and mostly expertise in electronics so this is something I’m willing to splurge on. If I build another, I would consider using another ESC another my friend is working on that can drive 2 motors for $100: https://odriverobotics.com/#features

The battery configuration is designed to be as cheap as it gets, 4x3s RC lipo packs in series. Cost $120 total. There is no BMS, the VESC already takes care of over current and low voltage protection. To charge it, I bought four low current 3s chargers for $6 each https://tinyurl.com/ybr7yej4. They are low current enough to charge through the balance ports without needing to unplug each battery to charge, and the balancing is a plus.

Not so worried about bending the batteries in this arrangement since a carbon fiber deck has zero flex.