DIY Electric Penny Board First Build

Hi, I’m making my first build on a penny board. The idea is to have an e-board small enough to casually bring on trains and buses. Basically, I’m trying to achieve this http://www.instructables.com/id/DIY-Electric-Skateboard-3/?ALLSTEPS but with the new VESC, R-spec motor, nyko wireless controller and if possible a resized SPACE cell (i’ll get to this later)

I’m using: enertion motor kit, enertion rspec motor, enertion trucks and wheels latest vesc, nyko kama wireless controller, 22" penny board, SPACE Cell v2

I bought a SPACE cell v2 without realizing it’s too big to fit on a penny board, and I’m thinking of opening it up and removing some batteries to make it smaller by sacrificing some power. Any advice? I’ll try to get some professional help at makerspaces/prototyping labs, but we all know the most professional help is on here :smile:

I’m a total noob with electronics and stuff, so I have some silly questions to ask.

1. How do I do a bench test without a controller? I haven’t soldered the nyko wireless wiiceiver to the VESC yet, as I have no experience with that.

2. I also don’t know how to connect the motor to the VESC. Am I supposed to crimp the wires on the VESC and then somehow glue them to the gold female connectors that came with the motor??

3. If opening up, removing some cells from the SPACE cell and repackaging it to be smaller is not feasible, I’m considering simply using the zippy 5000mAh 2S1P 20C batteries. Will it be okay to use the fast charger that’s originally for the SPACE cell for the zippy batteries?

4. Is it a good idea to open up the space cell, remove some cells and make it smaller? Or rather, is it a BAD idea? I’ve already spent so much on it that it’d be a waste to not use it, but of course it’ll be an even bigger waste to ruin it. Could always use it for a longboard build.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! So excited to not have to kick or destroy my shoes to slow my boards down.