DIY Remote for VESC

Hello everybody,

I’m a student in engineering and like many of the members of this forum, I made my electric skateboard entirely :

But I wanted a really easy to use, reliable and functional remote. So I worked on an DIY remote, and after many version, I finally did this :

The code is based on the library written by RollingGecko : https://github.com/RollingGecko/VescUartControl I modified lots of thing but their is part of the code, like the interface and the battery percentage calculation that I entirely keep like this because he made an incredible work.

The body is 3D-printed. I have a 300$ cheap 3D printer. The external quality of the print isn’t good but I don’t work lore on that because I just want it to be functional. I designed the PCBs and send to OSHPark to manufacture it.

At this state, it cost me around 100$ because of the different version. The last version cost 60$ but in this price I still have PCB that I don’t use for the moment.

It shows different information like the speed (approximation), the battery voltage, the battery percentage (calculated with the battery voltage), the distance (approximation), the max speed, the current in the motor, and the overall distance (it keep all the distances in memory).

It is super fun to use and very reliable. I never had disconnection even if my controller is on a waterproof box beside the board. It was a lot of work but It worked !

If you have quick questions, I can help you, but I don’t have enough time to make an entire tutorial and to clean my code to be useable by everybody. I made this post to give ideas if some people want to make something similar.

PS : I apologize if their is things that you don’t understand. I’m bad at writing in English.

Good ride !

3 Likes

Cool setup!

What transceiver did you use? What data is communicated on it?