DRV + Motor Issues

Okay, I have been working on my board for 6 months now and I had it intermittently running until I blew my DRV on my VESC 4.18. After a nice headache and a week of shipping in comes two new DRV’s and after messing up the first one I got the 2nd one Soldered on my board using Hot Air. Everything looks good under a microscope, and when I plug it into my computer the VESCtool doesnt throw any errors. Looking good. But now when I plug my 6364 into my VESC and try to get it to move at all nothing happens. No matter what I do I cant get it to even make a noise. I know that the motor works as it is easy to turn when the leads are disconnected and hard tot urn when I short two of them together. My last Idea is that I have somehow messed up the DRV after Soldering it and I am hoping that by posting this someone who actually knows what they’re doing can help me trouble shoot.

Save yourself a headache and buy a focbox.

When things like this happen you might end up investing a lot of time and and will go through many frustrations. BTW I suggest you buy focboxes and a replacement one in case something goes wrong with it.

BTDT

3 Likes

I have seen the love for FOCBOX’s on the forum but I don’t understand why I should buy an extra one. It sounds like you’re just saying all VESC are crap so buy two, buy ten because eventually they’ll all break. I would much prefer trying to fix it as this is a DIY site after all and if Someone else can do it I feel like I should be able to. If I should buy a FOCBOX because they’re better then why would I need a replacement? I appreciate your advice but I was hoping that someone had a solution to my motor not spinning.