Electric skate boards in the snow

Hello my name is Hans Swanson and I am a resident in Minnesota. We get alot of snow for a good part of the year and was wondering how I could “snowproof” my e skate.

I would like you to consider 2 types. Type one is for a general transportation application which would need the ability to operate in not more than an inch of snow. Used on semi plowed roads. The second type is a deepish snow aplication like on trails. This would be alot harder. Im considering trying to power my snowboard instead and would be beter for deep snow. I don’t know how I would mount a snowmobilebelt or some form of propolsion probably on the binding mounts. Someone has done something similar with jet engines REALLY COOL!!! https://vimeo.com/86054588. This is an iteresting challenge And wold lIke your help and input.

1 Like

those are ducted electric fans, not jet engines. Kind of a huge difference, but hey, who am I to argue with a click-bait headline? They effectively produce the same result which is thrust. These are actual fuel fed jet engines and would likely produce a similar result:

however electric fans are likely much easier to work with and control.

You should totally go with tank treads if you can figure that out. In my head it looks amazing.

#1 is doable, I think. Mostly waterproofing electronics and keeping the batteries at a happy temperature. #2 would definitely be cool, and I think the snowboard is the way to go. However, design issues aside, I can’t imagine how low the efficiency would be in loose snow. Powering via batteries for any appreciable distance would be quite a challenge in and of itself, I’d guess. Hope I’m wrong, would be awesome.

[quote=“longhairedboy, post:2, topic:325”] Kind of a huge difference [/quote]Lol.

snow hey…

needs this

2 Likes

THIS. This is what is necessary. Snow, mud, rocks, shitty sidewalks, small animals and children, nothing could stop you!

3 Likes

Wow, that’s legit. Wonder what it weighs.