eMTB, 12s, Turnigy D5035-125KV, Turnigy SK8-ESC

Could anyone please sanity check this setup? I’d like to convert my MBS Core 94 mountain board. These are the components I’m considering (single drive):

The batteries would be wired both in series and parallel giving 12S2P, 13200mAh. I should get 132A constant discharge from that, which is more than enough for the motor and should be sufficient even if a second motor is added later (the Turnigy D5035-125KV takes 45A).

I should also get 586 Wh, which, as I understand, should provide ~25-30 km range on a MTB.

For the mount, I’m considering one for MBS from Idea that has 4.8:1 gear ratio. On MTB with 8 inch wheels that should give me 37 km/h of max speed (http://calc.esk8.it/#{“batt-type-lipo”:1,“batt-cells”:12,“motor-kv”:125,“system-efficiency”:85,“motor-pulley-teeth”:15,“wheel-pulley-teeth”:72,“wheel-size”:200}|).

Does this all sound correct?

This is my first build. I want to start with something on a low budget and upgrade later. Might add another drive and/or get a better ESC. Even though this is a MTB, I’m mostly going to take it on road. More about that here: http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/mtb-with-easy-to-add-remove-motor/49317/14

I’ll greatly appreciate any suggestions. I realize this may be too much on a low budget.

The Tunigy VESC doesn’t look too promising. It’s just too cheap for a VESC and i think i never heard of someone using it for a long time without any errors. You should at least get a regular 4.12 ESC, or even better a Focbox or similar design. Think about it this way - if this VESC fails after a while you lost 70 Bucks and have to buy another, better vesc for above 100 bucks anyways. You should just go for the better VESC in the first place.

The motor should be fine if you don’t have to climb any steep hills on you way, same goes for the batteries.