Esk8 Remote control concept

So here is a concept design for an electric skateboard remote control. I have no experience with designing electronics, nor do I have a 3D printer or awesome CAD skills, so bear with me as I describe my design to the community.

This design would rely on a spring loaded slide potentiometer and an 18650 cell as the power source, although you could get away with most other cylindrical cells (e.g. a 16340). There would be an interlock button to prevent unintended acceleration. I have tried to keep a minimalist approach, but as I am no electronics guru, I will leave this design to those in the community who are technically minded and can make it a reality.

As a thumb based remote control, it’s a little different to what you might be used to, but it is meant to be a simply operated by being held within a closed fist, and moving your thumb toward your index finger to accelerate, and away to slow down and brake. So basically, you push the plunger down to go faster; and lift it up to slow down and brake. Here is a crude diagram.

Obviously, it would need to be a little longer to fit in an 18650 cell, and the loop at the top a little larger to put your thumb in, but I hope you get the idea. Not sure if the guts of the existing remotes would be able to be inside this one, but would be cool to have another cost effective option to what can be currently be obtained commercially.

What do you suggest as a name for the design?

What do you guys think?

I don’t dig this mechanism. In my opinion braking in this method is not very convenient and you don’t have much preciseness.

Thanks for sharing though.

My only gripe with it is the remote design does not easily allow it to be ergonomic. Also releasing the trigger too fast could result in a brake if you aren’t careful due to the nature of springs that aren’t designed for controllers.

it look too threatening. you can’t ride around a city with that! too much like a deadman switch.