Experienced Hobbyist Trying to Source Parts (CANADA)

Hello everyone, I’m looking for some help in picking my final parts out of some potential candidates. As well as help in finding the best place to source these parts cheaply.

I’m an engineering student, which means I have a lot of experience dealing with electronics projects but also very little money…lol. So I would really appreciate it if some more experienced esk8rs could help me make good part choices in the first place so I won’t have to waste money on sub-par components.

I’ve currently got an wicked fast ebike and an electric scooter built on a budget (800$ and $400) but I want something that I can take in my car to campus and to replace my analog longboard as a daily driver for around the same cost. I’ve mostly been tinkering with the motors and controllers in my last few electric vehicles, leaving the battery pack to be shipped in from china. But I now feel confident enough to try and create my own battery pack using high quality lithium ion cells to help keep the weight down on my new build. However I don’t know any reputable stores to buy from here in Canada that also have reasonable prices. Any vendor recommendations would be GREATLY appreciated.

For my actual board I want something that resembles a shortboard cruiser style skateboard but with enough power to get me up some hills, while still having enough capacity to last me through the day. This is a very close example to what I want my finished board to be like.