First build! Advice wanted

Whats going on everyone? Im sure this is going to be like a broken record, but i’m new to this esk8 thing and i’m not 100% sure on how to do a few things, or what to do i should say.

I’ll start with the things I already have.

Torque boards VESC Torque boards 6355 190 kv motor Torque boards motor mount and 36 tooth abec drive system Caliber ii trucks 50 degree 83mm flywheels Zealous bearings Basic longboard deck

What i need and think i still need…

Battery/batteries Receiver and remote power switch/antispark (dont know whats best) id like some kind of power meter for the batteries but i dont need that right away

i really dont know what i need to do for the batteries and how much my vesc can handle or what. ive never dealt with lipos. i just need something basic for now to get the thing going.

i should also mention that im not a small person, big and tall about 270 lbs. the area ill be skating at will mostly be flat with some slight inlines, nothing to crazy.

Any information will be greatly appreciated! thank you all in advance!

1 Like

For your size and and if your building a single drive, you should get the 6374 motor instead of the 6355 which is great for dual drives but the 6374 is about 1 1/2 times as power full as the 6355. Also, if you go 90mm wheels with 40T wheel pulleys, you’ll have a smoother ride and more ground clearance for your batteries and electronics under the board. The motor KV should be determined in accordance with the voltage you plan to use. 190KV is good for 10s. And you probably should go 10s for extra power.

Could I do a dual 190kv SK3 build with a 10s battery? Would that have a high top speed and/or have the torque to take on hills?

could i do 2 5s batteries as apposed to a single 10s? and will the vesc i have be able to handle that much power? i think it says it has a built in bsc… if thats what its called