First. Build. Ever || WENDIGO || Single 6374 || 10s3p 25 || 90mm ABEC11 Flywheels

Greetings all! I’m 46 and skate “regular” boards - ramps, bowls, etc. I have a couple mini ramps at my house and host regular sessions for friends and neighbors. A fellow OG skater brought his electric longboard over and I gave it a spin and got hooked. Now I’m building my own!

Here are my plans so far, with some explanation. If anything seems off please feel free to set me right:

Deck: Madrid Wendigo - I will confess to really not liking longboard decks, probably because I’ve been skating regular boards for 40 years. I like this deck because it’s a super-stiff downhill board, not too long or wide, the wheels are underneath (where they belong ;)) and a tail.

Trucks: Caliber II 50 10" - I really like the stock bushings on these already!

Wheels: IBEC11 90mm Flywheels (real ones) w/ Bones Swiss Bearings (had these lying around) - I can’t stand cheap urethane and I have some rough riding around here. These wheels are HUGE compared to what I’m used to. Big wheels = slow acceleration but high speed with push skating ,I’m expecting the same with a motor? Half inch risers and huge wheel wells = no wheel bite.

Motor: Torqueboards Single 6374 190kv

Mount: Torqueboards v4

Drive: 12mm belt, 16/36 - I need torque for some hills around here. Does this gearing sound OK for 90mm wheels?

Torque VESC

Battery: DIY 10s3p with Samsung 18650 25r in 3 bay vape sleds. 60a 10s BMS. - I really want to try this. The sleds cost a bit more up-front but I think with proper mounting and connections this will be solid and modular.

I started with one of these: a DOA 80v lawnmower battery. They send me a new one and I was hoping it was just a failed PCB or BMS connection. If my math was correct it would have 20 18650 cells inside.

Yup. 20 Sanyo

Unfortunately, each one reads 0.9 to 1.2 volts so I’m assuming they’re dead. I’m new to batteries!