First Build | Loaded Vanguard Deck | 1 Turnigy SK3 6374 192kv | 12S3P Samsung 25r | Vesc-X

Hi all, this is my first build and I was wondering what you think and what suggestions you have.

These are the parts that I have/ that are shipping:

Deck: Loaded Vanguard Trucks: Caliber II Wheels: 97mm ABEC 11 I bought these 3 from a shop in NY by the name of Uncle Funky’s Motor: Turnigy SK3 6374 192kv ESC: VESC-X Battery: 36 Samsung 25r cells that I will be connecting in 6S6P Remote: Wiiciever from @vitormhenrique Pulleys and Belt: 36T ABEC Pulley Combo Kit Motor Mount: From @korryh Charger: ?? I did order a BMS but it isn’t coming for over a month (I only saw after I ordered) so I might just not use it. My plan is to be able to take the battery on planes, so I think I will make 2X 2S6P batteries and 2X 1S6P batteries and possibly connect them through XT-60 connectors, but I would like to be able to charge without opening my board at all, does anybody know how I could do this? Also, correct me if I am wrong, but you are allowed to have 2 batteries over 100Wh and as many as you want under that right? If not, how could I make the battery so that I could take it on planes?

2 Likes

I would suggest a 12s3p so you can have speed. Otherwise you should be just fine.

Wouldn’t my range be cut in half then?

Nop… Your total stored energy will give you range… So volts x amp = total energy… 12s3p is the same as 6s6p… You need same number of cells so its same stored eneregy… But yet 12s gives u more volts = more rpm on the motor = more speed = less heat due to lower current drawn…

So then would there be any advantages to 6S6P over 12S3P? Also, I can program the vesc to limit the speed right? Because I used a calculator and it had me going at 40mph with a 12s battery.

There are no adventages of 6p6s… U can limit the speed with pulleys and gear ratio…

1 Like

12S it is, thanks!