First build, parts feedback

Hey guys. I have been reading a lot about E-Skateboards lately and I want to start building my own soon. I will have to go up and down a pretty steep hill right next to my home, but I’m pretty light (70kg). I’m a electrical engineering student from Germany and I’m on a budget (<500€).

Here are the parts I want to use, I would love to hear your feedback about them / tips which ones to buy when I left out a specific model.

-Motor mount: Aluminum, self-made on a CNC milling machine (from my university) using this 3D-model: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2604484 -Trucks: caliber ll trucks -Motor: Turnigy SK3 6374 190KV (going for a larger motor instead of an Alienpowersystems 5055 motor is better for hills right?) -ESC: VESC -Battery: Lipo 6s future upgrade to 10s -Wheels: 70mm (I know they are really small, but I have them already (cut costs) and extra torque for the hill is a plus) -Remote: Maytech MTSKR1712 (may upgrade to a self-made Bluetooth one using a microcontroller)

Do I need a BMS if I use a VESC for safety reasons? Because I can set a safe current limit in the VESC to prevent anything from blowing up and I will charge using a balance charger.

You don’t need a BMS but its recommended because it makes your life so much easier. Also what VESC are you planning on getting? The focbox is on sale might wanna take a look at it. http://www.enertionboards.com/electric-skateboard-parts/FOCBOX-programmable-brushless-motor-controller/

Thanks, that seems like a great deal! I was thinking about soldering the VESC on my own for fun/to learn something but I don’t know if that will be possible, have you heard of somebody building one successfully?

So the BMS fill only make charging way easier? I think that’s something I can easily upgrade later on.

I answered that in your 2nd post :slight_smile:

1 Like

The 70mm wheels are suicide unless you plan on using rear drive or a huge risers…motor will be too close to the ground…