First DIY, choosing the right electronics

I’m new to DIY E-boards and the hardest part so far has been choosing the right electronics for my board. If someone would be so kind as to check my parts, that are they OK? I’ve read quite a lot, but it may be that I understood something wrong.

Parts are from HobbyKing Europe warehouse. Motor, Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 Outrunner 280kV ESC, HobbyKing® ™ X-Car Beast Series ESC 1:8 Scale 120A (EU Warehouse) Battery, Turnigy Graphene Professional 8000mAh 6S 15C LiPo Pack w/XT60 (EU Warehouse) Remote and receiver, Rocksta 4WS Transmitter w/Two-In-One Waterproof Receiver and ESC (EU

I’m not sure about the remote, ESC, and battery. Battery should be 120 Amps, but would it be better to buy two smaller mAh and bigger C value? Also I’m going with 15/30 gearing ratio. This build is something around 10-15mph and its around my target.

Parts seems good to me except the TX, RX with built-in ESC. Just buy a normal GT2B/E otherwise you cannot use the X-Car Beast ESC!

How did you calculate the desired speed? I have made the calculation with 83mm wheels (do you use 83mm wheels??)

Calculation = 24mph

motor and esc are lookin good. (i ride the x-car beast 150a and it´s great :slight_smile:) go with atleast a 25c rating battery- higher c rating - less celldrift - more juice - more range - more fun! i´d take two 3s zippy 8000mah 30c. also take atleast 10awg wires. i´m not sure about that reciever and remote. and why are you targeting 10-15mph?

1 Like

120A is already fine IMO…[quote=“TarzanHBK, post:3, topic:10217”] and why are you targeting 10-15mph? [/quote]

Shall we ask every question twice? :stuck_out_tongue:

like i said, better have a bit room to avoid drifts. 15c is the maximum that battery could take, so not a good idea.

damn you daniel! :smile: i was typing slower and didn´t saw your comment :monkey:

1 Like

Okay, i do agree. I still think 120A is plenty and has enough room but the more the better :wink:

1 Like