First skateboard, first build

Need help for my first build. My main plan was to just buy an Evolve Carbon GT But as i think the price is quite expensive i thought i could probably make a board just as good or better for the same price myself. By budget is maximum $2500 for a dual setup. I have no experience with this so would like to make it clean an simple using pre-made parts and batteries. Range is very importan aswell as there is a lot if hills here and cold weather which will probably reduce the range if im right? Speed is not that important, anything from 40-100km/h will work.

Also which decks is recommended? I really like the look of the boosted board and similar board designs.

Boosted board use Loaded Vanguard deck and it’s very popular also on diy’s. 40kmh is ususally fast enough. Especially with Vanguard, because it’s very flexy deck. I just bought Landyach’s top speed deck and it’s very nice.

So you’re going to want to use either Orangatang Kegels, or Flywheel Clones for your wheels cause those two will be easiest to mount a pulley kit too. Also, Caliber trucks are kind of the standard for ESK8 at this point since most mounts are designed to accommodate their shape. Personally I’ve used Torqueboards mounts and pulley kits, they have held up great so far, check his stuff out here.

I’ve spent about 1,200 USD on a dual setup that hits 40+ km/h, so I imagine 2500 USD would almost get you two boards :slight_smile:

Get a deck you like, find some motors you like, and figure out how you want to do your batteries (li-ion or li-po). After that, it’s not going to be too much more. Decide if you’ll do a VESC or a standard ESC, and then odds and ends. Definitely second what @NickTheDude has said. Caliber II’s with Flywheels (and clones) or Kegels are great and make for easiest mounting of pulleys. Torqueboard’s stuff is fantastic (I have two of his motors) and @chaka has probably the best VESCs around (his site is OllinBoard