First time build! Need some help picking parts

Hey guys, this is my first time building anything like this, and prior to the couple days of researching I’ve done, I have no experience or knowledge of ESC’s motors, batteries and the like. However, after much thought and research I’ve come up with this list.

2x 5000mAh S4 25C Compact Batteries 1x 6374 192kV Motor 1x 2.4Ghz Transmitter/Receiver 1x Turnigy Sentilon V4 100A Speed Controller

And from what I understand I am going to need a BEC with the ESC as well. I’m planning on 3D printing 36T/16T pulleys, buying a belt and making my own mount. The board I’m using is a Madrid P-Cock and it is pretty low to the ground so I will have to mount the motor so that it sticks out the back.

That’s my plan, if I’ve missed anything please let me know and I would love to hear any suggestions. Thanks!

The batteries and motor seem good. If you want an alternative I would look at these motors from chaka (ollinboardcompay). I would strongly recommend not using that transmitter because I have heard some bad reviews on it, seems to break within a weak of use. I would either go with the Wiiciever and Nyko Kama combo or the GT2B. I have never seen someone use that ESC and would suggest you get this one instead. You will need a separate UBEC/SBEC. Would suggest picking up a programming card so that you can tweak the settings. You’ll also need a balance charger to charge your batteries, like this one.

Let me add to @karma

It looks like ur running 8s …

I would check this thread for an 8s or more esc

Electronic Speed Controllers

VESC 50a 12s DIY’s 120a 12s FVT 120a 6s FVT 180a 6s Castle Mamba Monster2 6s Castle XL2 8s Hobywing EzRun MAX8 6s Hobywing EzRun MAX5 200a 8s Hobywing EzRun MAX6 160a 8s Hobbywing XeRun XR8 Plus 6s

This one I think is for a helicopter or plane

Thanks for pointing that out! Thought it said 3S for some reason… Updated my post.

1 Like