First Time Building, Would Love Any Help

Hey everyone,

This is my first time building an electric board and I’m choosing and finding parts. So far I’ve chosen everything however I’m not 100% if its an optimal build or if there are any bottle necks.

My parts:

Motor: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/motor-6374-190kv-3150w/ Pulley Kit: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/36t-abec-drive-pulley-belt-combo-kit/?attribute_motor-pulley=16T+Motor+Pulley&attribute_belt-size=255mm+12mm+Wide VESC: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/vesc-the-best-electric-skateboard-esc/ Remote Control/Reciever: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/torqueboards-2-4ghz-nano-remote-controller/ Batteries x2 in series: https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-5000mah-5s-20c-lipo-pack.html **Battery Charger:**https://hobbyking.com/en_us/imax-b6-50w-5a-charger-discharger-1-6-cells-genuine.html

Some concerns I have:

1. Is the VESC good enough? Should I invest more money in the VESC if this VESC isn’t good enough?
  2. Will the battery charger be able to charge the 2x 5S batteries tomorrow, or will it only be able to charge them one at a time? It says its 1-6 cells so I am confused.
  3. Are there better motors out there for this type of money? Do I even need that much power in a motor? I don’t live in a place with too many steep hills.
  4. I’m trying to order as much as possible from one place because shipping is very expensive and really adds to the cost.

I think this over all adds up to about 450 USD. Is there anyway I can optimize this build with a budget similiar to this?

I really do appreciate any help ill get! Thanks guys!

1 Like

its fine you’ll need a parallel adapter to charge both batteries at once. if you haven’t used lipo before I would get a premade battery with a bms. costs more. but saves time in building and so much easier to charge.