FOC Box Unity burned out twice

I’m new to esk8 and I just finished my first build a few weeks ago. I ordered everything, assembled the board, and got it up and running with an experienced friend of mine who has been doing esk8 for years. Unfortunately, after day 2 of using the board with less than a mile traveled at no faster than 15mph, the DRV chip burned (image 1). I got a replacement under warranty as we thought it was a defect since my friend has never had that issue in his Unity boards and we couldn’t determine another reason. We just assembled the board with the new Unity a couple days ago, and it got through a mile yesterday with no issue, but after another mile today, it died on me again (image 2).

Does anyone have any idea why this has happened to me twice? We programmed the board exactly how my friend would program any of his boards and we can’t determine another reason as every other component on the board seems fine. I can provide specs for the board if that helps.

1 Like

If you purchased a unity nowadays, they will unfortunately fail. Not sure whether it was cheaped out because mosfet failed, antispark failure and it overcurrent, or set up caused it. Probably the first two.

What was the set-up from vesc tool?

1 Like

That seems odd given that my friend has multiple boards with new unities and has sold a lot of boards with unities without running into issues. Neither he nor I are sure what’s going on even after doing a little bit of reading around for similar/identical problems.

We used version 3.0 of vesc tool to program the unity both times.

1 Like

Was the battery connected right on the unity? Or does it have those XT90 with an XT90 antispark? If its the antispark one, thats the newer ones. Sometimes you get lucky and it doesnt happen. But Unfortunately, the antispark on the unity fails and can cause this issue. I’ve read so many of that and its the diode on it that blows out.