Gear Ratio discussion

Dear eSK8`ers, I have got some questions and some things i would like to discuss with you. To start with almost everyone off you recommends to take a minimum of 16T motor pulley with a 6374 190kv motor with a 15mm belt. But when i Calculate it i get this:

As you can see i calculate it with 5mm pitch 15mm belts so x1.89 x0.7 because the belts are going to be arround 260mm long. Lets say we Calculate the max torque for arround 3000rpm and take a 16T pulley. You get 1.3Nm x 0.80 x 1.89 = 1,9656Nm max. How is that possible that you can easily run 16T with HTD5 Belts without getting belt slip? image Do you guys use a higher tensioning force then 12lbf about 53N?

My other question is about mounting motor pulleys to a diy electric motor. Is it possible to mount a eskating pulley to a diy electric shaft? (I am not that experienced in this field).

1 Like

Firstly, I would like to commend you on actually doing things this way, I kind of miss the calculated approach on this forum as most of the decisions concerning drive design basically go the “mouth to mouth” sort of way… I do like this because that guy did like this and so on.

And now for slippage, this table you provided does not actually account for slippage, that depends on the looseness of the belt and the centrifugal force (rpm and diameter of the pulley being the major factors here). And the formulas for calculating that are rather big, im sure you can find them in some more serious belt drive design manuals.