Help a noob: going to spice up a factory board and need advice. *also, troubleshoot*

Hey guys,

Total noob here…

-not to the world of electric longboards, but definitely to the world of building and modifying them. currently, i have two boards, a WOWGo S2 and a Chinese special offroad board that i bought off of Alibaba (hindsight being 2020, maybe not the best pick).

-board details: 6354 motor of unknown make. 18650 10S4P LiPo battery, dual belt drive, 72:16 teeth, 200mm wheels

I’ve ran into trouble with the offroad board. I got at and used it for approximately 3 weeks with great results… then the issue appeared: it began going into limp mode randomly. At first, it seemed that bumps on the ride seemed to trigger this phenomenon, but it progressed to doing this even without being jostled (it seemed).

Then my suspicion went to overheating. -but this did not make sense. i got the board at the end of august, beginning of September when it was incredibly hot outside. since i never had overheating issues in 105 F heat, it makes no sense to me that i would experience them at this point on 50 F days, on much shorter rides.

I have just enough knowledge about electronics in general to be dangerous, so i tore into the board with the plan of checking out the ESC for obvious shorts (thought process stemmed from the limp mode being triggered by bumps.) well… I have the ESC stack out now and see nothing glaringly obvious. In the end, I think i’d be better off just beginning to upgrade the board as i’d like more performance, reliability, and customizability. thinking about swapping out this ESC stack for a VESC, but i know very little about them. Also, I do have a budget. I’m looking for quality, but also budget-friendly suggestions.

If you have any info that may help me, please provide it. Also, please do talk down to my level of expertise, explaining suggestions to simplicity.

-pics below

Thanks all! -HuskerMed