Help with new board to use on the golf course

I am looking at building a board to use on my local golf course. Reason for building my own is I don’t want to spend 5k+ on a Golf Board or Golf Skate Caddy. The course is somewhat hilly so I’m going to need something with a enough power and torque to get me up the hills and around the course. Range I’m needing per charge would be 12-17 miles and as far as speed 10-15 mph is plenty. I would like to keep the build under $1000. I am a complete novice to eboards so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

What sort of wheels u predict would be good? Ive seen that wider / bigger wheels would be better not to dig into the terrain

Can search around for various builds, but basically if you have the same diameter and length motor and a lower kv value (rpm per volt) then you typically get higher torque. Since you’re not looking for top end would basically suggest getting a relatively low kv motor. Like @Okami said too bigger wheels will work a lot better in grass and the like, you may also want to just throw some big risers (plastic/rubber between the trucks and the deck) on there to give yourself more ground clearance for the components hanging off the board.

Discussion here where the OP listed their parts and discussion below about things that are missing and what you should expect for costs. Long story short under $1000 is no problem if you spend $500 on electronics (getting mostly the good stuff) and a couple hundred on the deck and other skateboard hardware and you’ll be good. My single motor build ended up costing me around $600 if we don’t count the extra ESCs I fried waiting for the VESC.

Once you have your wheels picked out that will guide you on the pulley types available to some degree and then can choose the voltage and kv for the motor that makes sense for the speed you want

http://calc.esk8.it/