Hi5ber Honeycomb Overtaker build

This is my first build. I initially just wanted to have a Carvon board that didn’t weigh 25 pounds. So months ago I bought the XL and two FOC boxes. Knowing that the Landyachtz deck is heavy, that was what I decided to change. First plan was to use the alien power systems deck and have a battery made by @psychotiller , make the whole process easy. Well first I found out that they don’t predrill the enclosure holes, or truck mounting holes. Then I realized that the battery I had built was just slightly too wide for the integrated enclosure. The dimensions are basically exactly that of the 18650 cells. So I looked at my other carbon fiber options to save on weight. Decided to pick a Hi5ber. As a lot of you know, finding enclosures that fit the bottom of these decks can be challenging. I decided to get the @Hi5ber overtaker in honeycomb carbon fiber. I bought some honeycomb fabric from composite visions and sent it to @MasterCho for a slightly slimmed 23 inch enclosure. In the end I became hooked on the building process, so all the trouble was a good thing.

Anyways so now I’m waiting for the Carvon motors and FOC boxes to arrive. I realize now that I will have to find a way to externally mount the receiver since both the enclosure and board are carbon fiber. I am open to suggestions. I was thinking a tiny 3D printed box mounted under the front of the board.

18 Likes

@Chase looks awesome! That new honeycomb CF is business, and @MasterCho always does excellent work! For the antenna: drill small (2mm hole on the side of the enclosure and run the external antenna in a discrete spot along the side using tape or black hot glue.

Or, you can drill a small hole on the top of the deck, run the antenna through it, tape it down w tape, and cover it w grip tape.

4 Likes

That’s beautiful, great work!

3 Likes

It is sparkling.:laughing:

@Chase Lookin’ good, welcome to the club :wink: