How do i make a plug in and leave to charge setup?

im a beginner on my first build and want to make a easy charge function without needing to take out the batteries each time, running 3s 5200mah x2 on a sk3 249kv single drive setup with vesc. so how do i do and what do I need? a bms thing? what like a laptop charger tho I’m a student and need to carry charge with me. didn’t know how to create a thread so just posts this here and would be very happy for answers

You can either get Bms (one plug charging)… or make ‘‘VGA port’’ / Miami boards all in one charger…

VGA port charging would happen through one port but you would have to solder the balance leads to the pins of the port… This way you would still get the chance to use your smart charger (which I assume you have)… to charge your lipos…

BMS -> One plug -> No smart charger, just constant voltage source or so…

VGA port ‘‘mod’’ -> One plug for charging (but many smaller wires connected to the port) -> Smart charger

1 Like

There is a VERY easy way to do this, and it’s how I charge my main board (2 packs of 6s 15000mah each).

1. buy a power jack (3.5mm - or whatever the below charger has on the end) and link it into your main power feed to your batteries - not to the balance leads (ignore them), but at the main power output of your joined battery packs. + and -
  2. buy a cheap lipo charging “brick” rated at your battery voltage, in your case 6s (like mine) . Here is what I use (£13 delivered)

Plug charger into power jack you installed. Walk away and forget it. When it’s charged the LED on the charger will go from red to green.

You do not need a BMS. Everyone is fretting over BMSs. I’ve been using lipos for years and years, well before esc8ing. Unless you have a bad pack, or you regularly run your packs below 3.2 volts per cell they will stay mostly in balance. By mostly, I mean close enough it makes zero difference. If you have a bad pack then no amount of BMS balancing will make it good.