Inboard M1 build/upgrade advice

Hello everyone, I bought the M1 almost 1 year ago, when I was a total noob about everything regarding electric skateboards. I use it almost everyday to commute to work but I almost regret buying it now that I’ve spend some time reading this forum and learned more about other brands and custom builds, also the huge price drop!

Some background:

After one month the first board died with water damage and that’s when I realized it wasn’t at all waterproof. Luckily I got it from a local store and they sold me as waterproof so they gave me a new one. Then I started googling because I was pretty sure the Inboard was waterproof, that’s when I found out this forum and this post: https://www.inboardtechnology.com/blogs/behind-the-design/2017-1-20-water-resistance-battery-safety-update

Blockquote Inboard cannot 100% guarantee weight shifting won’t briefly break the seal of the battery lid while the battery lid flexes.

The lid isn’t the only problem but, in their defense, I only got the first gen… they made small updates after that so I can’t tell if that’s improved.

Finding this forum was the only good outcome of that episode, so I thrown my warranty away, opened it and with your help I made it waterproof myself. That worked for almost a year but last week I opened for maintenance… was lazy to make it water tight again and well… a puddle fried the ESC almost instantaneously… my bad I know.

I was mad at first that I just lost 1.2k euro… but I started reading more and more here and figured out it not so hard to fix the board and probably make it even better than it was before.

Rebuild:

Ofc I need a VESC so I’m thinking Flipsky Dual FSESC4.20 Plus that seems compatible with 12s1p (can anyone confirm that? I get mixed opinions and confusions btw the normal and plus version).I’m also open to other VESC suggestions.