Lithium ion discharge rate

Hi so I have been reading and looking around for lithium ion battries discharge rate and found it to be 1c.

So am I right to say that a 7s4p 8.8mah lithium ion battery pack is able to discharge 61.6amps (7 x 8.8) continuous?

All lithium ion batteries have a designated discharge. (I’m no expert so please correct me if I’m wrong.)

Lets say each cell is rated for 15A continuous. I believe Samsung 30Q 18650s are this. They can’t actually output anything near that. The most I’ve seen out of mine is ~9A per cell peak. Most of the time it seems to be sitting around 3-6A. So take that into consideration.

Using that knowledge you can multiply those numbers by the parallel number in your battery config. Let’s say a 7s4p like you said. That would be about ~20A continuous with ~36A peak.

4 Likes

Thanks for your reply, I am not sure of the cells I am using. They are Chinese battery packs. Is there a way to find out?

Thats total crap how many amps did you pull? What are your esc specs or vesc setting

@SquidKingRabbit each cell has its own discharge rate, the higher the capacity the lower the discharge rate usually The best choice with li ion is Samsung 30q for smaller packs and 35e for larger (5p+)

1 Like

You can rip apart the shrink wrap and see usually theres the brand and model written on the cells

1 Like

You made a wrong calculation here. Of you have a 4p 8.8ah pack one cell will be 2.2ah. If your cells can handle 1c than it is 2.2ah*1c= 2.2a per cell or with 4p 8.8a in total. The more parallel groups or capacity the more current your batteries can handle as the current split between the parallel groups (not between serial connections like you calculate). Like @Michael319 and @Acido said, Samsung q30 are good cells for esk8. They have a discharge rate around 20a so in your case with 4p up to 80a continues which is very good for a dual setup

2 Likes

Pulled about max 35amps from my 7s2p with LGEAMF11865 cells.