Looking for constructive feedback on first build with hub motors

Hi gang—I’ve been reading through the forum quite a bit, but I’m still well behind the general knowledge curve to be sure. I’m a 48 year old graphic designer with a casual long boarding hobby. Now I want to go electric.

I was led here after researching many pre-builts and determining the following:

1. I’d like the ability to choose my own deck & some components—I want what’s right for “me”.
  2. I’d like to really learn more about the specifics & science—always achieved from DIY, not to mention the ability to replace, tweak & improve.
  3. I’m a parent, and although I have some discretionary income, spending a lot of money all at once is not in the cards. A piece-by-piece build fits my lifestyle better.

That said, because I’m a designer and not an electrician, I am trying to achieve a “plug-and-play” board of sorts, in the vein of one of RunPlayBack’s videos. Aesthetics & simplicity (from an assembly standpoint) are of major interest to me: So… here’s what I’m thinking

• MOTORS: dual hub motors (I live in Florida—no hills to speak of, and I want to maintain pushability & clean lines). Thing is, I have no idea what sort of hub motors are easiest—or available. I’ve looked into Enertion & Carvon, but they don’t seem available for sale at the moment.

• BATTERY: I love the idea of an all-in-one LIPo/power switch/meter component like Enertion’s SPACE Cells. I literally want to combine fewer components & do it cleanly.

• VESC: Honestly… I’m still reading up on this stuff. Pretty in the dark, but know I need (want) one.

• CONTROLLER/RECEIVER: same as above, really.

• DECK: Not sure yet on specifics, but a 38-40" longboard deck seems like my style.

• TRUCKS: I’d love to be able to use standard trucks (I skate on 10" Caliber 2’s right now), which is another reason I’m going hub motor & DIY.