Low Temperature Solder and 18650 battery packs

I had [what I thought was] an epiphany last night:

I want to build an 18650 battery pack but I don’t have a spot-welder. I don’t really want to buy one. I was going to have a go at soldering the packs but I’m aware that it’s not a great idea. I was going to try anyway.

I remembered back to when I was an electronics engineer (technician mostly) and we used to use a low-temperature solder. I was wondering why you couldn’t use some of this low-temp solder to solder nickel strips to 18650 battery packs.

Maybe a higher-resistance?

Solder would melt when battery pack was under load?

Keen to hear thoughts.

An example from my favourite store: [Aliexpress.com low temperature solder](https://www.aliexpress.com/item/High-Purity-Low-Temperature-Solder-Line-Rosin-Core-Wire-Welding-Soldering-Iron-Accessories-2017-New-Arrival/32817812784.html?

Also: you seem to be able to buy 18650 batteries that have tabs already welded to them (have been able to for years), but maybe they aren’t high-discharge batteries.

It will break apart under vibrations, low temp solder is used for desoldering, is then removed and proper solder applied

3 Likes

Yeah, lo-temp solder is a bad idea, especially with nickel strips. The heat up during heavy discharge, and that could cause the solder to melt and either come loose, or cause a short.

If you’re going to solder (And it can be done, done well and safely if you are careful and practice) then it’s worth going whole hog and using copper wire, strip, or braid.

3 Likes

AH good point (@scepterr). It’s been a few years since I used it (literally for desoldering).

I might get some 18650s (10s1p probably) when I find some at a good price. I live in New Zealand so I generally have to pay freight unless get some good ones from AliExpress.

10s1p won’t give you much current. 18650s don’t really shine as a battery for esk8 unless you have at least a 3p pack.

1 Like